North Carolina A&T State University

FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES

February 23, 2010 2014 Smith Hall

Senate Members Present: Taher Abu-lebdeh, B. Edith Archibald, Shearon Brown, Linda Callahan, Horlin Carter, Lemuria Carter, Roy Coomans, Jim Crawford, Salil Desai, Arona Diouf, Wendy Hamblet, Floyd James, Thelma King, Roland Leak, Patricia Lynch, Francene Moore, Wayne Moore, Japhet Nkonge, Sang Hyon Oh, Janis Oldham, Jeffrey Parker, Xiuli Qu, Brian Sims, Derick Smith, Yunqiu Zhang

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Linda Florence Callahan at 3:07 p.m.

Moment of Silence

Guest presenters

Dr. Linda Callahan introduced Police Chief Glen C. Newell, Athletic Director Wheeler Brown, and Division of Human Resources representatives, Rob Kramer and Sylvia Anderson to the Senate.

Police Chief Newell provided information on the Active Shooter Drill that is scheduled for the University on Friday, March 26, 2010. He reported that North Carolina A&T State University will conduct an all-day emergency active shooter drill. The purpose of the drill is to provide an opportunity for participants to evaluate current response concepts for responding to an active shooter event on the campus. The drill will focus on A&T and local emergency responder command and control coordination, critical decisions, and notifications necessary to save lives and protect public health and safety. The role of crisis management strategies will be critical to the overall response effort. Police Chief Newell noted that a massive University campaign is underway to inform everyone about the exercises that will take place during the day.

Athletic Director Wheeler Brown provided an update on the Academic Performance Rate (APR) for Student Athletes. The APR was developed by NCAA to measure how scholarship student-athletes were performing term by term. The passing APR rate is 925, which translates to 60% of graduation success rate. Of the 15 sports the University currently has, 13 exceed the cut off APR rate of 925. The two sports programs that are below the cut off rate are football (848) and bowling (892). Improvements have been made to increase these rates. It was noted that all faculty and the Center for Academic Success are doing a great job in working with student-athletes.

Mr. Rob Kramer, Director, Center for Leadership & Organizational Excellence and Ms. Sylvia Anderson, Director, Employees Relations and Affirmative Action Officer presented information from the Division of Human Resources.

Mr. Kramer gave an overview of the purpose of the Center for Leadership & Organizational Excellence. He provided goals and strategies of the Center noting that the baseline objective is to develop employee competencies at all levels of employment. Focus is placed on professional development in leadership, organizational effectiveness and service. The Center has a three-year new programs and services plan which will begin in July, 2010.

Ms. Anderson provided information on the comprehensive employee relations planning process. She reported that her office focuses on compliance and accountability in the workplace. Her areas of concentration are equal employment opportunity, affirmative action and employee relations.

Approval of the Minutes

A motion to approve the January 26, 2010 minutes was made by Senators with the following correction:

Committee Reports

New Programs and Curricula – Dr. Thelma King

The New Programs and Curricula Committee met on January 9, 2010 and reviewed, discussed and approved curricula changes submitted by the Psychology Department. Dr. King presented a summary of the curricula changes for the Psychology Department to the Senate. After discussion, a motion was approved by Senators to accept the Psychology curriculum packet.

<u>Handbook Committee – Dr. Horlin Carter</u>

The Handbook committee has been meeting on a regular basis. Dr. Carter reviewed the content of the Handbook, noting that some student information will be included for information. Dr. Carter stated that additional information is needed on the reassign policy, namely, the date of approval. Dr. Callahan will bring this information to the next Senate meeting. Dr. Carter also asked for additional information on team teaching or shared load. Anyone with information on these topics should be in touch with Dr. Carter. It was also agreed that the Handbook Committee will place a draft copy of the Handbook on Blackboard for Senate review, comments and edits. Draft copies of chapters will be forwarded as they are completed by the Handbook Committee.

Vote on Slate

The Senate officially voted on a slate of committee members for the Grievance Committee and the Hearing & Reconsideration Committee, 2009-2010. Dr. Guochen Yang was added to the Grievance Committee and Dr. Shamsuddin Illias was added to the Hearing & Reconsideration Committee. A motion was made and approved by the Senate to accept and support the slate of names as submitted.

Callahan Comments

- The Department of Journalism was recommended for re-accreditation,
- the importance of committee work was emphasized,
- senators are to think about whether they are interested in running as an alternate delegate to the UNC Faculty Assembly, and
- NCA&T State University senators and alternates are elected in March of each year. Names of senators and alternates for next year should be forwarded (via email) to Mrs. Nina Ingram.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

The next Faculty Senate Meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, March 23, 2010 in Room 2014, Smith Hall.

Submitted by Nina R. Ingram Faculty Senate Administrative Assistant